2015 Leichhardt Award

The Leichhardt Award was conferred on Professor Joan Esterle at a dinner at Heritage Village, Rockhampton. The award dinner followed the first day’s proceedings of the  joint ACARP-BBGG meeting recently held at Central Qld University on 7-8th July, 2015. The award recognises Joan’s longstanding contribution to advances in coal geology research through her association and leadership within BBGG / ACARP / CSIRO and the University of Qld.  As an educator Joan has been a “teacher, coach, mentor, trainer, guide, challenger, advisor and gentle-cajoler to an innumerable number of students and coal geologists during her career in Queensland”. Her 2015 Leichhardt Award citation is as attached.

Many thanks to ACARP, Central Qld University, Velseis, Geoconsult and the Coal Geology Group for their continued support of this event.

 Previous winners of the Leichhardt Award are listed below:

  • 2001 QCAT CSIRO Exploration and Mining Division (meeting held at, and award made at Maraboon Tavern, Emerald)
  • 2003 Gary Fallon (meeting held at CQU Gladstone, award made at Gladstone Sailing Club)
  • 2005 John Draper (meeting held at CSIRO QCAT, award made at St Lucia Golf Course)
  • March 2007 Peter Goscombe (meeting held at CQU Rockhampton, award made at Rockhampton Heritage Village)
  • July 2009 Lance Grimstone (meeting held at CQU Rockhampton, award made at Rockhampton Heritage Village)
  • July 2011 Jim Beeston (meeting held at CQU Rockhampton, award made at Rockhampton Heritage Village)
  • July 2013 Andrew Willson (meeting at CQU Mackay, award made at BURP Restaurant Mackay)


BBGG 2015 SYMPOSIUM – 7-9th OCTOBER 2015

20150515 Banner

BBGG 2015 SYMPOSIUM – 7-9th OCTOBER 2015


One of the Resource industry’s best value technical events for 2015 which includes:

  •      Workshops, Industry Booth Displays and Symposium Dinner
  •     Addition details available at the Bowen Basin Sympsoium website
  •     Click on the “Register Now” button and complete your registration & payment details




• Many thanks to Syeda Areeba Ayaz – (PhD Fellow at University of Queensland) who recently presented her research findings at the recent joint BBGG/ AIG joint meeting on 15th of July, 2014 . The presentation entitled “CONFIRMING STRATIGRAPHY THROUGH TEPHROCHRONOLOGY – LATE PERMIAN FORT COOPER AND EQUIVALENT COAL MEASURES, BOWEN BASIN” provoked a lot of discussion amongst those who attended with the results to be published in the near future.
• Also many thanks to Tom Simpson and Rod Carlson from the AIG who ran the meeting and arranged the venue.

Successful Quarterly Meeting

Successful Quarterly Meeting at the Baralaba Coal Mine Central Queensland – 1/10/2014

A total of around 40 people attended the BBGG Quarterly Meeting held at Baralaba on Wednesday 1st of October 2014. After meeting at the Baralaba Bowls Club for registration and a technical meeting the group then proceeded to the Baralaba Coal Mine for a tour of the operations.  Many thanks to Richard Punt, Alex Bell and Victoria Treacy and others from Cockatoo Coal for presenting and organising the day. Thanks are also extended to Alex Duran from Pells Sullivan Meynink for giving an insight into the geotechnical challenges on site.  David Green from GEMS was also able to update the group on recent advances in Coal Log. Cockatoo Coal is thanked for its support of the event. Photos and information relating to the day are available via the “Publications” tab on the home page.

getImage (1)